Our Faculty

Michael Acevedo

Michael Acevedo, M.M.

Ensemble Director

Mariachi

michael.acevedo@utsa.edu

Sherri Baker, M.A.

Sherri Baker, M.A.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Class Piano

sherri.baker@utsa.edu

Jennifer Beavers, D.M.A.

Jennifer Beavers, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Music Theory

jennifer.beavers@utsa.edu

Jordan D. Boyd, D.M.A.

Jordan D. Boyd, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Choir

jordan.boyd@utsa.edu

MUS 03.01.52

Mark Brill

Mark Brill, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Musicology

mark.brill@utsa.edu

Isaac Bustos, D.M.A.

Isaac Bustos, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Guitar

isaac.bustos@utsa.edu

Joseph Caploe

Joseph Caploe, M.M.

Lecturer

Music Technology, Jazz Studies

joseph.caploe@utsa.edu

Arts Building 3.01.30B

210-609-2792

John Caputo

John Caputo

Lecturer

Trombone and Euphonium

john.caputo@utsa.edu

Nicole Cherry, D.M.A.

Nicole Cherry, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Faculty Fellow for Faculty Success

Violin, String Area Coordinator

nicole.cherry@utsa.edu

ARTS 03.01.36

Nicholas Councilor, D.M.A.

Nicholas Councilor, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Clarinet

nicholas.councilor@utsa.edu

Tracy Cowden, D.M.A.

Tracy Cowden, D.M.A.

Interim Director of UTSA Arts

Special Assistant to the Dean for Community Engagement and the Arts

Roland K. Blumberg Endowed Professor in Music

tracy.cowden@utsa.edu

Stacey Davis, D.M.A.

Stacey Davis, Ph.D.

Acting Director - School of Music

Professor - Music Theory

stacey.davis@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.46

210-458-5335

Allyson Dawkins

Allyson Dawkins, M.M.

Associate Professor of Practice

Viola

info@utsa.edu

ARTS 3.01.38

210-602-1672

Susan Dill, D.M.A.

Susan Dill, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Music Education Area Coordinator

Choral and Elementary Music Education

susan.dill@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.06

Rami El-Farrah, D.M.A.

Rami El-Farrah, D.M.A.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Saxophone

Rami.ElFarrah@utsa.edu

ARTS 1.02.10

210-583-1109

Ronald Ellis, M.A.

Ronald Ellis, M.M.

Associate Professor

Director of Bands

ron.ellis@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.52

210-458-7258

Miles Friday, D.M.A.

Miles Friday, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

miles.friday@utsa.edu

ARTS 3.01.30.F

Hector Garcia

Hector Garcia, M.M.

Assistant Director of Athletic Bands

hector.garcia3@utsa.edu

ART 1.01.52

Jourdan Howell

Jourdan Laine Howell

Associate Professor of Instruction

Voice & Lyric Theatre

Jourdan.howell@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.08

Ivan Hurd, D.M.A.

Ivan Hurd, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Piano Pedagogy, Class Piano Coordinator

ivan.hurd@utsa.edu

Crystal Jarrell Johnson

Crystal Jarrell Johnson, M.M.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Voice

crystal.jarrelljohnson@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.18

Sean Johnston

Sean Johnston, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Music Theory

sean.johnston@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.02

210-458-7259

Kasandra Keeling, D.M.A.

Kasandra Keeling, D.M.A.

Associate Director, School of Music

Professor, Piano

Keyboard Area Coordinator

kasandra.keeling@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.28

210-458-5323

Laura Kelly, Ph.D.

Laura Kelly, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction, Music Theory

laura.kelly@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.20

Steven Lloyd, D.M.A.

S. Andrew Lloyd, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Organ and Composition

andrew.lloyd@utsa.edu

ART 3.03.02

William McCrary, D.M.A.

William McCrary, D.M.A.

Associate Professor

Voice and Lyric Theatre

william.mccrary@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.22

Si Millican, D.M.A.

Si Millican, Ph.D.

Professor

Instrumental Music Education

si.millican@utsa.edu

MB 3.108

210-458-5334

Alejandro Montiel

Alejandro Montiel, D.M.A.

Instructor of Classical Guitar

alejandro.montiel@utsa.edu

Yoojin Muhn, D.M.A.

Yoojin Muhn, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Director of Choral Activities

yoojin.muhn@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.16

John Nix

John Nix

Professor

Vocal Pedagogy

john.nix@utsa.edu

Arts 3.03.28

210-458-5678

Susan Olson, D.M.A.

Susan Olson, D.M.A.

Associate Professor

Voice

susan.olson@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.38

Steven Parker, D.M.A.

Steven Parker, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Trombone, New Media, and Coordinator of Music Marketing

steven.parker@utsa.edu

312-498-6047

Kristen Pellegrino, Ph.D.

Kristen Pellegrino, Ph.D.

Professor

String Music Education

kristen.pellegrino@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.50

Troy Peters

Troy Peters, M.A.

Ensemble Director

Orchestra

troy.peters@utsa.edu

Gary Poffenbarger, M.A.

Gary Poffenbarger, M.A.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Tuba and Euphonium

gary.poffenbarger@utsa.edu

Music Room 3.02.30

719-659-5498

Zlatan Redzic

Zlatan Redzic

Lecturer

String Bass

zlatan.redzic@utsa.edu

Peter Rubins

Peter Rubins, M.M.

Associate Professor of Practice

Horn

peter.rubins@utsa.edu

Sherry Rubins

Sherry Rubins, M.M.

Professor of Practice

Percussion

sherry.rubins@utsa.edu

ART 1.02.10

210-458-4867

Megan Joyce Rulewicz, M.F.A.

Megan Joyce Rulewicz, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dance

megan.rulewicz@utsa.edu

Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

andrew.smith@utsa.edu

J. Drew Stephen, Ph.D.

J. Drew Stephen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Music History, Graduate Advisor

drew.stephen@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.10

210-458-5686

James Syler, M.M.

James Syler, M.M.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Composition

james.syler@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.26

Chad West, Ph.D.

Chad West, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Instrumental Music Education

chad.west@utsa.edu

Stephanie Westney, D.M.A.

Stephanie Westney, D.M.A.

Professor of Instruction

Violin

stephanie.westney@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.36

Ethan Wickman, D.M.A.

Ethan Wickman, D.M.A.

Professor

Music Composition & Theory

ethan.wickman@utsa.edu

ART 3.02.12

Sarah Wildey-Richmond, D.M.A.

Sarah Wildey-Richmond, D.M.A.

Lecturer

Bassoon, Music History & Literature

sarah.wildey-richmond@utsa.edu

Rachel Woolf, D.M.A.

Rachel Woolf, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor of Flute

rachel.woolf@utsa.edu

Yi Qun Xu

Yi Qun Xu

Assistant Professor of Practice

Cello

yiqun.xu@utsa.edu

Thomas Yee

Thomas Yee, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Theory & Composition

thomas.yee@utsa.edu

John Zarco, D.M.A.

John Zarco, D.M.A.

Associate Professor

Director of Instrumental Ensembles

john.zarco@utsa.edu

ART 3.01.54

Our Staff

Steven Hill

Steven Hill

Administrative Associate II

Steven.Hill@utsa.edu

Randi Miles

Randi Miles

Music Specialist

randi.miles@utsa.edu

Benjamin Pyles

Benjamin Pyles

Music Specialist

benjamin.pyles@utsa.edu

Rolando Ramon

Rolando Ramon

Marketing Coordinator

rolando.ramon@utsa.edu

Wesley Uchiyama-Penix

Wesley Uchiyama-Penix

Events Manager

wesley.penix@utsa.edu

Naomy Ybarra

Naomy Ybarra

Administration Services Officer I

Naomy.Ybarra@utsa.edu

Smiling COLFA student doing the UTSA roadrunner finger salute

Your future starts here

The University of Texas at San Antonio College of Liberal and Fine Arts is UTSA's largest college. It offers degrees through its 11 departments, administering 33% of all UTSA credit hours.

43

Degree and certificate programs

3

Research Centers

$2M

in projects funded through 49 grants

7

Certificate Programs