The College of Liberal and Fine Arts has an exceptional faculty, drawn from outstanding institutions nationwide. Their academic interests are diverse and well balanced, with commitment to teaching and mentoring, research and creative achievements, and service to the university, their profession, and the community. The college has 175 tenured and tenure-track faculty, two endowed chairs, and two endowed professors.

Twenty-two faculty members in the college have received Fulbright Lectureships. Faculty members have received grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Science Foundation, the National Geographic Society, the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense and the National Endowment for the Arts, and many have won teaching awards.

Faculty members have served as presidents of national organizations, including the Social Science History Association, the National Association of Schools of Art & Design, and the Society for American Archaeology. Three College faculty members have held UTSA's Ashbell Smith Professorship.

The college's staff is an essential component of COLFA, providing support to the administration and faculty in the delivery of quality academic, research, and public service programs.