Welcome Message from the Chair

Welcome to the History Department at the University of Texas at San Antonio, home to 25 full-time faculty and over 300 history majors!

Our faculty consists of frontline research scholars exploring subjects in all parts of the world from the U.S. and Latin America to the Atlantic world, the Indian Ocean, and beyond. Our teaching programs feature a team of innovative, award-winning professors grounded in advanced pedagogies and committed to student success. In addition to our popular History B.A. that introduces students to the fun and rigor of learning and practicing history, the department offers a social studies concentration for students seeking teaching certification. We also offer a History M.A., one of the largest and most robust graduate programs in the College of Liberal and Fine Arts, where a significant number of students receive funding, including the department’s prestigious Nau scholarships. I encourage you to explore these pages to learn more about us and about the world of history unfolding before our eyes.

Follow us on social media!

Wing Chung Ng, Ph.D.


Wing Chung Ng, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Professor



Have an inquiry about our History program?

We appreciate your interest in the Department of History and extend our warmest welcome to you from the Department.

History Department Leadership

The leadership of the History Department represents a collection of conscientious faculty who work as a team to provide the best educational experience for students while representing the vision of the department to the administration at large. Each role serves a different function, but together they meet the needs of our diverse student and faculty body.

Dr. Abe Gibson

Assistant Department Chair

Abe Gibson, Ph.D.

Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez

Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Gabriela Gonzalez, Ph.D.

Dr. Andrew Konove

Graduate Advisor of Record

Dr. Andrew Konove, Ph.D.

Student Spotlight

The students and alumni of the U.T.S.A. Department of History accomplish so much both while in the program and when they leave. Every student leaves a lasting imprint on our program and our pride in these incredible individuals spans beyond their time with us. Check out just a few examples of our incredible current students and our amazing alumni!

Valinda Lewis

Valinda L. Lewis

Valinda L. Lewis completed her education program at U.T.S.A. in History to go on to teach 8th grade students at Joel C. Harris Middle School where she serves as the Head of the Social Studies Department.  Her lesson plans led to a 93% passing rate on student state exams that year and earned her the "Rising Star Teacher of the Year Award" for 2022/2023 school year!
Gabe Rios

Gabe Rios

For the past several months, this incredible and current M.A. student has worked with History and Classics Faculty on a large scale digital history project as Graduate Fellow, for the Seed of Texas Project, made possible by the Whiting Foundation Public Engagement Seed Grant.  The teacher workshops he will help to facilitate with the team this July, only showcase his remarkable talents.
Dr. Erin Doran

Dr. Erin Doran, Ed.D.

Dr. Erin Doran, Ed.D, Associate Professor at Iowa State University completed both the B.A. and M.A. programs at UTSA in the History Department before pursuing her Ed.D. at UTSA as well.  This incredible scholar furthers the education field with her research and publications in addition to guiding and teaching upcoming scholars as well.
Promotional Flyer for Nicola's Guest Lecture

October 6, 2023

Chris Nicola, M.A. Guest Lecture

A member of the Department of History Faculty, John Carr-Shanahan, M.A., invited a guest speaker to one of his classes to give a talk to students about his professional experiences in the fields of civil service and cave exploration!

September 1, 2023

Romo Endowed Professorship recipients create innovative learning experiences for UTSA students

UTSA COLFA History professor Kirsten Gardner has been selected as the newest recipient of the Ricardo Romo Ph.D. Endowed Professorship, along with two other UTSA Faculty members. Established in 2009, the two-year appointment awards faculty in the Honors College for their exceptional teaching, research, leadership and service to students. Over the course of the professorship, selected faculty design and teach two or more experiential learning courses in the Honors College and give an annual public lecture in their area of expertise.

Lead Photo Example

September 8, 2022

UTSA professors receive NEH grants to support historical works

UTSA history professors Catherine Nolan-Ferrell and Cindy Ermus have each received one-year, $60,000 grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) to support their research on relevant societal issues, including questions of citizenship and human rights and lessons learned from past pandemics that impact our understanding of COVID-19.

History Events

View All Events

There are currently no events!