Posted on August 31, 2020 by COLFA

Interim Dean Sean Kelly has launched a task force of 35 faculty, staff and students, to help the College of Liberal and Fine Arts identify its greatest strengths and opportunities. Most of the task force members are from the college, and the work will include research and outreach over the next three months.

The process, which coincides with the search for a permanent dean, will result in a report and recommendations that will serve as a resource for the prospective candidates, providing them with insights on COLFA’s identity, and helping lay the groundwork for future strategic planning efforts.

The task force subcommittees will have four priorities to research and discuss: COLFA’s identity and strengths; opportunities to partner with other parts of campus; opportunities to partner with and serve the San Antonio community; and insights from examining other institutions. Subcommittees will work to reach a broad cross section of faculty, staff, students, and external partners. Once a report is complete, the outcomes will be discussed at forums open to the campus community. Input can be submitted at any time to 

Task Force Members:

Jill Fleuriet, Interim Dean, Honors College/Department of Anthropology

Sharon Navarro, Professor, Department of Political Science and Geography

Stephen Skinner, Director of Development & Special Projects, University Development

John Santos Sr., Distinguished Lecturer, Honors College

Nathan  Richardson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies/Professor and Department Chair, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

Jerry Gonzalez, Associate Professor/Director of the Mexico Center, Department of History

Annie Herrera, Assistant Dean for Academic Administration, COLFA-Dean’s Office

Shamshad Khan, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication

Lisa Montoya, Vice Provost, Global Initiatives                      

Richard Armendariz, Professor, Department of Art and Art History

Libby Rowe, Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History

Scott Sherer, Professor,  Department of Art and Art History

Tricia Schwennesen, Senior Communication Specialist, COLFA-Dean's Office

Tara Thompson, Program Coordinator,   COLFA-Dean's Office

Jason Yaeger, Associate Dean of Graduate Programs/Professor, Department of Anthropology

Jenna Gonzales, Senior Grant Development Coordinator, COLFA-Dean's Office

Seok Kang, Associate Dean for Research/Professor, Department of Communication

Chad Mahood, Associate Professor, Department of Communication/Faculty Senate Chair

Mark Blizard, Associate Professor, Design, Department of Architecture

Sonia Saldivar-Hull, Interim Department Chair/Professor, Department of English

Jennifer Dilley, Lecturer III, Department of History

Ethan Wickman, Associate Professor, Department of Music

Tracy Cowden, Department Chair/Professor, Department of Music

Jessica Wright, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy and Classics

Andrea  Aleman, Lecturer III, Department of Political Science and Geography

Nazgol Bagheri, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and Geography

Jamal Rhadbane, Lecturer II, Department of Political Science and Geography /PSG Alumni

JoAnn Browning, Dean, College of Engineering/College of Architecture, Construction and Planning

Kalia Glover, Advisor (and History-Masters alumni), Honors College

Dean Hendrix, Dean, Libraries and the Institute of Texan Cultures

Mario Vela, Executive Director, Career Center, University Center

Patrick Crowley, UTSA student