College of Liberal and Fine Arts

Tactical Visioning Phase I

Our Charge:

The Visioning Team explored the questions of who we are and how we want to be and then agreed upon a vocabulary to describe our work and define our purpose moving forward. Through discussions with faculty, staff, students, alumni, administrators, and community stakeholders, they were tasked with identifying patterns that might help us craft a clear vision for our direction and create a vocabulary describing our identity. This included identifying the practices that make us who we are and aspirational practices, the implementation of which will mark our future path. Our main goal was to clearly articulate the academic, administrative, and educational activities that, when we engage them, truly make us a model for an urban-serving HSI research university in the 21st Century.  



  • Andrea Aleman, Lecturer III, Department of Political Science and Geography
  • Richard Armendariz, Professor, Department of Art and Art History
  • Nazgol Bagheri, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and Geography
  • Mark Blizard, Associate Professor, Design, Department of Architecture
  • JoAnn Browning, Dean, College of Engineering/Interim Dean, College of Architecture, Construction and Planning
  • Tracy Cowden, Department Chair/Professor, Department of Music
  • Patrick Crowley, UTSA Student Government Association
  • Jennifer Dilley, Lecturer III, Department of History
  • Jill Fleuriet, Acting Dean, Honors College/Department of Anthropology
  • Jenna Gonzales, Senior Grant Development Coordinator, COLFA-Dean's Office
  • Jerry Gonzalez, Associate Professor/Director of the Mexico Center, Department of History
  • Dean Hendrix, Dean of Libraries 
  • Annie Herrera, Assistant Dean for Academic Administration, COLFA-Dean’s Office
  • Seok Kang, Associate Dean for Research/Professor, Department of Communication
  • Shamshad Khan, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
  • Chad Mahood, Associate Professor, Department of Communication/Faculty Senate Chair
  • Lisa Montoya, Vice Provost, Global Initiatives                      
  • Sharon Navarro, Professor, Department of Political Science and Geography
  • Jamal Rhadbane, Lecturer II, Department of Political Science and Geography /PSG Alumni
  • Nathan Richardson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies/Professor and Department Chair, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Libby Rowe, Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History
  • Sonia Saldivar-Hull, Interim Department Chair/Professor, Department of English
  • John Santos Sr., Distinguished Lecturer, Honors College
  • Tricia Schwennesen, Senior Communication Specialist, COLFA-Dean's Office
  • Scott Sherer, Professor, Department of Art and Art History
  • Stephen Skinner, Director of Development & Special Projects, University Development
  • Tara Thompson, Program Coordinator,   COLFA-Dean's Office
  • Mario Vela, Executive Director, Career Center, University Center
  • Ethan Wickman, Associate Professor, Department of Music
  • Jessica Wright, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy and Classics
  • Jason Yaeger, Associate Dean of Graduate Programs/Professor, Department of Anthropology



  • Sean Kelly, Interim Dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts; Dean, Honors College
  • Shannon Heuberger, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Initiatives
  • Debbie Howard-Rappaport, Senior Manager of Administrative Support Operations, Academic Affairs
  • Terri Reynolds, Administrative Services Officer III, College of Liberal and Fine Arts


Phase I is complete. View the Tactical Visioning Phase I Report.


Recent News

Find Us

Main Office: MH 4.01.23

University of Texas at San Antonio

College of Liberal and Fine Arts

One UTSA Circle

San Antonio, TX 78249-1644

ovations publication
illuminations newsletter
utsa top tier
colfa advising
spring 2015 commencement
colfa scholarships