"As we strive to create a more civil public discourse, a more adaptable and creative workforce, and a more secure nation, the humanities and social sciences are the heart of the matter."

Commission on the Humanities and Social Sciences The American Academy of Arts & Sciences UTSA. The University of Texas at San Antonio[™] 2021 Town Hall Dr. Glenn Martinez Dean of the College of Liberal and Fine Arts Pressing grand challenges related to equity, disparities, justice and expressivity Creativity and content creation as drivers of prosperity and economic growth

Grassroots support for Humanities, Interpretive Social Sciences and the Arts Increasing evidence of global benefits of humanities, interpretive social science and arts education

Our Identity

COLFA is the college dedicated to <u>exploring</u>, <u>metabolizing</u>, and <u>representing</u> the **human experience** in the totality of its <u>diversity</u>, in the contexts of its <u>environments</u>, and in the arc of its <u>history</u>.

Our Commitments

Create



Forcing Functions

Applied	Human experiences differentially shape the impact of social, economic, health, and environmental challenges.
Creativity and Content Creation	Compelling representation of the human experience through creative renderings within and across multiple media.
Digital	Digital transformations mediate and modulate the human experience.
Global	The human experience is shaped by movement and interaction – real and symbolic borders both invite mobility and engender immobility.
Public	Public approaches to the human experience seek to amplify and diversify opportunities for critical engagement with disciplinary knowledge and practices.

Deliverable

Multiple notional models that will capture the richness of COLFA's focus on the human experience and accelerate UTSA's trek towards it three strategic destinations:

- A model for student success
- A great public research university
- An exemplar of strategic growth and innovative excellence

Co-conveners

Glenn Martinez, Dean Nathan Richardson, Associate Dean

Project Director Shannon Heuberger

Project Coordinator Terri Reynolds

Senior Communications Specialist Tricia Schwennesen

Visioning Team

Group A

- Andrea Aleman
- Mark Bayer
- Lilian Cano
- Tracy Cowden
- Jill Fleuriet
- Seok Kang
- Sonia Saldivar Hull
- Will Smith
- Serife Tekin
- Greg Elliott
- Justin Boyd

Group B

- Paul Ardoin
- Rebecca Bria
- Whitney Chappell
- Stacey Davis
- Dean Hendrix
- Chad Mahood
- Wing Chung Ng
- Scott Sherer
- Kenny Walker
- Jill Sortore

Group C

- Richard Armendariz
- JoAnn Browning
- Nicole Cherry
- Jennifer Dilley
- Annie Herrera
- Paul Le Blanc
- Joycelyn Moody
- Jessica Nowlin
- Jason Yaeger
- Ryan Takaba

Group D

- Nazgol Bagheri
- Isaac Bustos
- Isaura Contreras Rios
- Devin Flaherty
- Shamshad Khan
- Sean Kelly
- Libby Rowe
- Jon Taylor
- David Vance
- Chris Sauter



