Faculty and Instructors

Recruited from leading universities, department faculty engage in innovative research in diverse fields, publish regularly with leading presses and journals, and assume leadership in an array of prestigious national and international organizations. Faculty have been honored with Fulbright Fellowships, NEH Fellowships, Rockefeller Foundation grants, and many other awards, including the Chancellor’s Council Teaching Award.

Faculty members who are eligible to teach graduate courses and serve on dissertation committees are indicated with an asterisk (*).

Diane Abdo

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Professional Writing

Maia Adamina

Lecturer II

Internship Coordinator

Paul Ardoin *

Assistant Professor

post-1900 literature and theory

Wendy Barker *

Poet in Residence; Pearl LeWinn Endowed Professor

Poetry and creative writing, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, women’s studies

Mark Bayer *

Associate Professor; Department Chair

Early modern literature, drama, Shakespeare

Crystal Colombini *

Assistant Professor; Honors Coordinator

Rhetorical theory and literacies; rhetorics of economics and risk; writing assessment; linguistics

T. Jackie Cuevas *

Associate Professor; MA/PhD Graduate Adviser of Record

Latina/o literature, Chicana/o literature, queer theory, feminist theory, women's and gender studies

Bridget Drinka *


History of English, linguistics, language of the borderlands, linguistics and literature

Kimberly Fonzo *

Assistant Professor

Medieval literature, early theatre and performance, women’s and gender studies, medieval authorship, prophecy and apocalypse

Sue Hum *

Associate Professor

Composition and rhetorical theory and pedagogy, literacy and digital technology, race and gender, visual rhetoric

Steven G. Kellman *


Comparative literature, modern and contemporary literature, European and American fiction, film, biography, literary theory

Sonja L. Lanehart *

Brackenridge Endowed Chair of Literature and Humanities

Sociolinguistics; language, identity, and education in the African American community

Joycelyn K. Moody *

Sue E. Denman Distinguished Chair in American Literature; Director, African American Literatures and Cultures Institute

African American literatures and cultures, the literatures of US slavery

Magdalena Nerio

Lecturer II

Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century literature, Women and literature

Annette Portillo *

Associate Professor

Native American literature and culture, Native American feminism, women writers of color

Jeanne Campbell Reesman *

Jack & Laura Richmond Endowed Faculty Fellow

Nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature, the novel, naturalism, feminism, cultural studies

Sonia Saldívar-Hull *

Professor; Director, Women’s Studies Institute

Chicana/o literature, Latina/o literature, feminist theory and literature, the American novel, border theory, women’s studies

Kerry Sinanan *

Assistant Professor

Black Atlantic Studies; Race, Slavery, and Gender in the long eighteenth and nineteenth centuries; Jane Austen

David Ray Vance *

Associate Professor; Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Creative writing, modern American poetry and poetics

Kenneth Walker *

Assistant Professor

Rhetoric of Science and Technology, Professional and Technical Writing, Science and Technology Studies, Ecology

Robert Wilhite

Lecturer II

Professional writing, technical writing, composition

back to top