About the Conference

The African American Studies Symposium provides an annual opportunity to engage with national scholars about the most current research and academic trends relevant to the lives of Black people in the United States.

Committee Members

Kinitra Brooks
Associate Professor of English
Ricardo Romo Endowed Chair of the Honors College

Marco Cervantes
Associate Professor & Director,
Mexican American Studies Program

Dr. Rhonda Gonzales
Department of History

Dr. Sonja Lanehart
Professor and Brackenridge Endowed Chair of
Literature and the Humanities
Department of English

Dr. Joycelyn Moody
Sue E. Denman Distinguished Chair in American Literature
Department of English

Tara Schmidt
Research & Education Librarian

Dr. Scott Sherer
Professor of Art History, and
Director, UTSA Art Gallery and Satellite Space
Department of Art and Art History

Deborah Thomas
Assistant to the Dean
College of Liberal and Fine Arts


Brackenridge Endowed Chair in Literature and the Humanities

College of Liberal and Fine Arts

Department of English

Department of History & American Studies

Honors College

Institute of Texas Cultures

Office of the President

Office of the Provost

Student Center for Community Engagement and Inclusion

Sue E. Denman Distinguished Chair in American Literature

University College