Reading Series

The UTSA Creative Writing Reading Series was inaugurated in 1983 when Carolyn Forché read on a Friday afternoon to a room of 100 people. Over the years the series has hosted such writers as Mary Oliver, Ernest Gaines, Tobias Wolff, Karen Tei Yamashita, Evie Shockley, Denise Levertov, Alberto Ríos, Pat Mora, Diane Wakoski, Edward Hirsch, and many other poets and fiction writers who not only give public readings but also visit classes and meet with students about their writing. We’ve had as many as twelve readings by visiting writers in a year but have settled on three or four annually as an ideal number.This reading series is made possible through the generosity of our Donors.

Oscar Cásares
October 4, 2019
John Peace Library Assembly Room
JPL 4.04.22, 7 p.m.

Oscar Cásares is the author of Brownsville, a collection of stories that was an American Library Association Notable Book of 2004 and is now included in the curriculum at several American universities, and the novels Amigoland and Where We Come From. He is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Copernicus Society of America, and the Texas Institute of Letters. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, he teaches creative writing at The University of Texas at Austin. [Photo credit Joel Salcido]

Rita Dove
November 22, 2019
John Peace Library Assembly Room
JPL 4.04.22, 7 p.m.

Rita Dove has received the highest honors our country can bestow on a poet. In 1993, she was the youngest poet and the first African American to be named U.S. Poet Laureate. She has also received the National Medal of Arts as well as a National Humanities Medal. Her sixteen books of poetry include Thomas and Beulah, which won the Pulitzer Prize; On the Bus With Rosa Parks; Sonata Mulattica; and, most recently, Collected Poems: 1974-2004. Dove has also published works of fiction, and her play The Darker Face of the Earth was produced at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. In addition to her other major contributions, she edited the Penguin Anthology of 20th Century American Poetry (2011). She is currently Commonwealth Professor of English at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville.

Kimberly Garza
March 20, 2020
John Peace Library Assembly Room
JPL 4.04.22, 7 p.m.

Kimberly Garza is a Pushcart Prize-nominated writer of fiction and nonfiction. Her stories and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in Copper Nickel, DIAGRAM, Creative Nonfiction, TriQuarterly, Bennington Review, Puerto del Sol, CutBank, Huizache, and elsewhere. She holds a Ph.D. in English-Creative Writing from the University of North Texas and an M.A. from the University of Texas at Austin. A native of Uvalde, Texas, she is Assistant Professor of Creative Writing and Literature at the University of Texas at San Antonio and is at work on a linked collection of stories centering on Galveston Island. [Photo credit Cole Jeffrey]

Valeria Luiselli

Visitor Parking is available for $2/hour in the Bauerle garage. For a detailed map click here. Drivers can also take advantage of permit-free parking options in Employee A, Employee B, and unmarked Commuter spaces during the following times: Monday - Thursday: 10:00 pm - 7:00 am; Friday: 4:30 pm - 7:00 am the following Monday. For more information click here.

back to top