Core Faculty

Wendy Barker

Poet in Residence; Pearl LeWinn Endowed Professor of Creative Writing

Author of Nothing Between Us: The Berkeley Years, a novel in prose poems (Del Sol Press, 2009) and numerous collections of poetry, including Poems from Paradise (2005), Way of Whiteness (2000), Let the Ice Speak (1991), and Winter Chickens (1990), as well as two chapbooks, Eve Remembers (1996) and Between Frames (2006).

Catherine Kasper

Author of Notes from the Committee (fiction), winner of the Noemi Press Chapbook Award (published 2009), Field Stone, winner of the Winnow Press First Book Prize (2004), A Gradual Disappearance of Insects (poetry, Pecan Grove, 2004), Optical Projections (short stories, Obscure Publications, 2004), and Blueprints of the City (Transparent Tiger Press, 2000).

David Ray Vance

Author of Stupor, winner of the 2012 Elixir Press Antivenom Prize (2014), and Vitreous, winner of the 2005 Del Sol Press Poetry Prize (Del Sol Press, 2007), as well as a chapbook, Radium Jaw (Transparent Tiger Press, 2001).

Creative Writing Committee Members

T. Jackie Cuevas

Author of chapbook Otherhood, U.S.A (2000). Her work has appeared in the third edition of Gloria Anzaldúa’s Borderlands/La Frontera (2007), and in literary magazines such as Sinister Wisdom, Stone Canoe, and Ixua Review. Cuevas is a member of Macondo, the creative writing group founded by Sandra Cisneros.

Cynthia Hawkins

Editor of Arts and Culture at The Nervous Breakdown, Pushcart nominee, Dzanc Books Best of the Net nominee, and two-time runner up in Glimmertrain Press' fiction contests. Her work has appeared in several literary journals and magazines including ESPN the Magazine, New World Writing, and Passages North.

Steven G. Kellman

Author of Redemption: The Life of Henry Roth (W. W. Norton, 2005), which was honored with the 2005 New York Society Library Award for Biography.His other books include The Translingual Imagination (2000), The Plague: Fiction and Resistance (1993), Loving Reading: Erotics of the Text (1985), and The Self-Begetting Novel (1980). He received the 2007 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing from the National Book Critics Circle, and he currently serves as vice president for membership of the NBCC.

B. V. Olguín

Author of two poetry collections: Red Leather Gloves (2014) and Sombras de Sangre/Shadows of Blood (2014).

back to top